You are here

Panorama of the Villages of the Queyras

The image below is a panorama of the villages of the Queyras: Abriès, Aiguilles, Arvieux, Ceillac, Château-Ville-Vieille, Molines, Ristolas and Saint-Véran.



 


From its source on monte Viso, the River Guil tumbles down to Guillestre and the River Durance. It flows through the villages of Ristolas, AbrièsAiguilles-en-Queyras et Château-Ville-Vieille before entering the gorge of La Combe below Montbardon.


Near Abriès the Guil is joined by the waters of Le Bouchet on the right bank, and at Aiguilles those of the Peynin valley on the left bank. At Ville-Vieille, at the junction with the Aygues valley, it is joined by the Aygue Blanche which flows down from Saint Véran, the highest village in Europe, where ‘the roosters peck at the stars’) which has already been joined in Molines by the Aygue Agnel, coming comes down from the Col Agnel. Then lower down it is joined by a tributary from Arvieux which has its source at the Col d’Izoard. Finally, the Guil merges with the Cristillan, a mountain stream from Ceillac, (as if the river needed added strength to push its way through the gorges above Guillestre!).


As so often, geography helps to explain history. The valley of the Cristillan stands apart from the basin of the upper Guil, and for this reason Ceillac was isolated from the Queyras until recent times. And then, when you remember that the road along the Guil was not built until 1855, you can understand that the Queyras was isolated for a long time.


The average altitude in the Queyras is almost 2,000 metres, and more than half of its inhabitants live above 1,600 metres. The best way to get a high-altitude view of the Queyras is to climb the Sommet-Bucher (2,254m). The all-round panorama from the summit reveals the whole of the Guil basin and the most distant Alpine peaks.


 


 


 

Picture gallery

EN translation unavailable for .

Vous êtes ici

Le panorama des villages du Queyras

Ci-dessous, l'image représente un panorama des différents villages du Queyras : Abriès, Aiguilles, Arvieux, Ceillac, Château-Ville-Vieille, Molines, Ristolas et Saint-Véran. 

 

Après avoir pris sa source au mont Viso, le Guil entreprend sa descente tourbillonnante vers Guillestre et la Durance. Il traverse les villages de Ristolas, AbrièsAiguilles-en-Queyras et Château-Ville-Vieille avant de s'engager dans la Combe, au pied de Montbardon.

A Abriès il reçoit sur sa rive droite les eaux du Bouchet, à Aiguilles, en rive gauche, celles du Peynin. A Ville-Vieile il fait sa jonction avec les Aygues, l'Aygue Blanche qui descend de Saint Véran, plus haute commune d'Europe où les coqs, dit-on, picorent les étoiles, et l'Aygues Agnel qui prend sa source au col Agnel et baigne Molines au passage. Poursuivant sa course il reçoit rive droite son affluent qui descend d'Arvieux, ayant pris sa source au col d'Izoard. Son confluent avec le Cristillan, torrent qui dévale de Ceillac, est beaucoup plus tardif, comme si le Guil, fatigué après sa traversée tumultueuse de la Combe du Queyras, recevait le renfort du Cristillan avant d'attaquer les gorges jusqu'à Guillestre.

Comme souvent, la Géographie permet de comprendre l'Histoire. La vallée du Cristillan est à l'écart du bassin du Haut Guil et de ce fait, Ceillac est restée extérieure au Queyras jusqu'à un passé récent. Et si on se souvient que la route du Guil n'a été construite qu'en 1855, on comprend pourquoi le Queyras est resté isolé si longtemps.

L'altitude moyenne du Queyras est proche de 2000 m et plus de la moitié de ses 2 000 habitants vivent à une altitude supérieure à 1600 m. Pour avoir une vue générale du Queyras, rien ne vaut l'ascension du Sommet-Bucher (2254 m). Le panorama sur 360 ° permet de contempler l'ensemble du bassin du Guil et les sommets des Alpes les plus lointains.

 

 

 

Galerie photos